LMS has received notice that Rachel Steckbeck, Erin Kauffman and Andrew Furjanic have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program, and Ben Stutzman was named a National Merit Semi-finalist. Stutzman will compete to become a National Merit Finalist, which will be announced in the spring. Andrew Furjanic is a student at the Hershey Campus; Steckbeck, Kauffman and Stutzman attend Lancaster Mennonite High School.

During the 2014-15 school year Lancaster Mennonite High School students Josiah Nisly, Andrew Milligan, Charlotte Schreyer, Matthew Eshleman and Micaiah Barley received recognition in the National Merit Scholar competition based on their PSAT scores. Milligan and Barley were named Finalists in the program, while Eshleman, Nisly and Schreyer were recognized as Commended Students.

From among the Finalists, Milligan and Barley were selected to receive National Merit Scholarships to Fordham University in New York. Fordham University’s ranking is #58 in the National Universities category of the 2015 edition of Best Colleges. These awards are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Commended Students

In late September, about 34,000 of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students can become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.


In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state.


In February, about 15,000 Semifinalists are notified by mail at their home addresses that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are notified and provided with a certificate to present to each Finalist.