Class of 2017 Commencement

Elaine Moyer, senior director with Mennonite Education Agency, will deliver the commencement address to the Lancaster Mennonite High School Class of 2017 on Saturday, June 3, in the Weaver Auditorium of the Calvin & Janet High Fine Arts Center, Lancaster Campus, 2176 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster.  The class of 2017 is the school’s 75th graduating class.

Moyer has been a leader in public and Mennonite education from junior high through the university level. She served as head of school at Christopher Dock Mennonite High School for twenty years and as assistant professor at Bluffton University for almost seven years.

In her work with MEA, Moyer’s role is to support, network and amplify the work of boards, administrators and faculty of MEA institutions serving early childhood through seminary. She recently served as an advisor to Lancaster Mennonite’s Superintendent Search Committee that successfully culminated with Pamela Tieszen succeeding retiring superintendent J. Richard Thomas in January 2017. Moyer also supervises the MEA accreditation process that recently renewed the accreditation of Lancaster Mennonite School. She will speak on “What Lies Within.”

Commencement will be preceded by a Senior Class Dedication service Friday night, June 5, in the same location. The three student speakers are: Maya Katherine Dula, daughter of Andrew and Michelle Dula, Lancaster (Landis Homes Art Purchase Award); Jialiang “Tim” Zhang, son of Junfeng Zhang and Ling Wei, Shijiazhuang, Hebei, China (Science Department Award, Presidential Academic Fitness Award); and Larice Mejia, daughter of Elixandra Bilbao, Lancaster (Peacemaking and Service Award).

The class motto is “What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us,” and the class verse is “More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, becasue God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” (Romans 5:3-5 NRSV)

The Class of 2017 will be led by Emily Shay Stevens, president; Zijun “Julie” Zhao, vice president; Julia Anne Wilson, secretary; Jazleen Jones, secretary, and Veronica Maria Lopez, treasurer.